It’s Sew Time…

I have a thing for vintage patterns. Did you know that about me? I love sewing clothes from the 1950’s and 1960’s. Sure, I have to do some altering (the bust line has changed so much in the last 50 years. Who knew a 32 in 1950 was more like a 36 in 2010?!), but the journey to giving an old pattern a new life is great!

So, when a nice package of patterns I won on eBay over the weekend arrived yesterday, needless to say, I was thrilled! Upon opening the package (you never quite know what you are going to get with vintage patterns), I discovered each pattern had its pieces neatly folded and all were intact! I bid on this particular lot of patterns because there was one for a set of 1960’s pants. I just love those old skinny leg pants and have been wanting to try making a pair myself. I also got a couple ‘surprises’ in the lot: three patterns from the 1970’s – psychedelic! If anyone needs a flower power dress or a 70’s power suit, let me know and I can pass these bad boys along!

Like I need another project when I already have a few in the queue, but what will one more shift dress hurt? Plus, it’s a ‘Jiffy’ pattern. You’ve got to love those patterns that come with two pieces and lining. Wonderful and Quick! I’m going to cut it out today and the goal is to have it made with some muslin fabric in the next few days to try on for fit (again, I just love making size a 14 for myself and then having it be too small…).  I’ll post some pictures of the final project later in the week!

Leave a Reply

