The Countdown

So, at this time tomorrow I will be finished with my marathon (can you believe I’ll be running 26 miles in the morning?!). The fact I keep doing this always baffles me. Only a crazy person would run 26 miles. I actually lost sleep earlier this week because of nerves. After 16 times, you would think this would be easy, but it’s not. I feel as if I’ve put in SO much time this go round that I just have to do well.

As I went to check in, and flash my shiny new passport (which, by the way, has the worst picture on it I’ve ever taken…I guess I can try again in 10 years) to pick up my race bib, I made sure I signed up to run with the 3:55 pace group. Hopefully I’ll meet some fun people and break 4 hours at the same time.  You never know who you will meet!

Back to my trip…the colors here in Michigan are great. I couldn’t resist snapping a few pictures while I was in Holland on Friday. The park across from Hope College was just so vibrant with colors. I also got to meet and stay with Jayme’s Chris’s family last night. They were great and after a late night of staying up and talking, I ran my last run before my race this morning and headed out to Detroit at lunch. Now, if I can just calm down enough to get some sleep tonight!

Leave a Reply

