Au Revoir Michigan….Bonjour NYC!

Sometimes the little things in life can make your day. Do you know what I mean? A cup of blueberry cinnamon coffee from Cups, the time to sit down and read a novel from cover to cover, or going for a run and getting to watch the sunrise. Today one of those little things happened. …well, almost happened. You see I was bragging a bit to my mother this afternoon about not using a map today (yes, you see, a little thing!). I made it to both of my library visits, my lunch place and dinner place (mmMMMmmm…Inn Season Cafe in Royal Oak) sans map. I was feeling really good. So after dinner as I hopped on the 696 to head to my hotel, during the drive I called my Mom to chat and I began to gloat about my direction skills. That’s when things turned sour, as soon as I hung up with her, I realized I had taken a wrong interstate for my turn off. It’s no fun going 10 miles in the wrong direction. After backtracking and merging onto the correct interstate I made it safe and sound to my hotel.

There was something good that came out of the getting lost. I got to watch an amazing sunset. The coulds were billowy, heavy, purplish and full of rain. When the sun started to go down they turned colors of bright, blazing pink! I had to pull off the interstate to snap a few quick pictures. The photos don’t do it justice, but you can see the great colors in the sky that made for a not so bad getting lost drive!

Another funny thing happened today – I got my race pictures in. (they are very low resolution when I copied them, so the quality below isn’t the greatest). The one below is from Mile 18. I saw the camera girl, so I made sure to put on a good face! I was feeling pretty yuck at this point, but you can’t tell from here!

This one is from the finish line. I just stopped my watch and realized that I cut it close to the four-hour mark (I started 8 minutes behind the timer with my wave). I knew I was a few seconds quicker than 4 hours, so I could now relax!

The week in Michigan has been great. I couldn’t have asked for a better fall visit, visit with friends, or enjoyable runs! Tomorrow morning I’m heading to NYC for a little getaway weekend and can’t wait to enjoy some time in the city! Hopefully I’ll have some great stories and pictures to post in the next few days…check back soon…

Leave a Reply

