Vintage Patterns, Bakelite Buttons, and Good Deals…

It was a good day. Not only did I get to spend some quality time with my Aunt and cousin, we spent that quality time shopping. What better way to spend an afternoon! We started with a visit to one of my favorite spots in Charlotte – The Sleepy Poet. I could spend a day in itself roaming the nooks and crannies of this giant antique mall. Having visited it a couple of times in the past, upon arrival I made a beeline for my favorite booth, and I wasn’t dissappointed. When all was said and done, I found 7  fabulous vintage patterns (dresses ranging from 1944-1964), 5 mother of pearl belt loops, 2 mod red bakelite buttons, and a 1960’s striped day dress.

We then ran an errand at Belk (a southern chain of department stores) and while Julia was getting her errand done, I ventured into the shoe section. What lady doesn’t like to look at shoes? I felt as if I had stepped into the mall on December 24, as there were so many people there it was hard to move. Apparently we had ventured in during their yearly sale. As a person who LOVES a good bargain, I began to peruse the final sale shoe section. My eye was immediately caught by a pair of Frye beige wedges. These (tall) beauties had been marked ½ off and then they were advertising an additional ½ off. I tried them on, and standing about 4 inches taller, felt great! So, I took them to the register to purchase and they rang up $29.90. Score! I’d have to say it was the deal of the day, as they were over $200 on regular.

1960's t-shirt day dress

It was a fun (and tiring) day of shopping. I just love antique malls and am already looking forward to shopping the shelves of the next one I stop at! Now, if I can just find an electric 6-8 cup corningware percolator at one…. If someone’s grandma has one laying around, I’d be happy to take if off her hands!

One thought on “Vintage Patterns, Bakelite Buttons, and Good Deals…

  1. You know that MiMi has one of those I believe. You can ask if she does.
    Martha Pigott may have one as well from Aunt Jane or from MaMaw. Worth a check.
    Sounds like you all have such a fun day of shopping….if you love to shop…

Leave a Reply

