A Mardi Gras Parade in Fayetteville?!

Northwest Arkansas greeted me this morning with cold. I stepped off the plane, walked down the jet way – teeth chattering, shivering (I didn’t have a coat on), and watching my breath blow away in the wind. Burr…it was 32. Not a fun welcome home. However, shortly after lunch the fog moved out and the sunshine came out to greet us! The temperature is still pretty chilly and a 20 mph north wind doesn’t help, but at least the sky is blue and the sun is shining!

With the advent of the sun, we ventured out for a stroll around town.  Every Mardi Gras weekend Brian and I make it a point to walk downtown to the square and watch Fayetteville’s Annual Mardi Gras Parade of Fools. We always get a good chuckle out of the event, all the while enjoying the local flavor. This year the parade was much shorter than in years past, but folks were still out in mass. So, after catching a couple beaded necklaces, we visited our favorite nearby shops and moseyed on home. It was a nice welcome home. After 2 1/2 weeks being gone, it feels good to be back in familiar surroundings and hang out with B.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On a side note, I rounded out my vintage Pyrex Mixing Bowl set and added an additional four bowls to the collection in an American Eagle pattern. I don’t really have room for extra bowls, but I couldn’t pass up the great deal I got on the set. I’m all set to now make multiple batches of bread now that I have two larger size bowls!

Leave a Reply

