Brown Sugar Peach Muffins

I realized today that it’s been WAY to long since I last posted! I’ve been quite busy this month – between my job, keeping up with the shop (I spent 4 hours rearranging today – it looks nice and fresh!), getting through the first few weeks of marathon training (12 miles in the rain this morning), and trying to sew a few dresses to put in the shop (I actually sold my first dress last week!) – well I haven’t had time too much time to post. I have still been baking, sewing, and reading (lots of good reading!). …just neglecting my blog! No more.

I am home most this month and should have some time to post pictures of a few dresses that are in the works. I’m working on a great little black number for a fashion show later this month. Yes, a fashion show – thought it’s not my dress being showcased, a black dress is the required attire, so why not make a great one! I bet you’re wondering about this fashion show. My favorite local jewelry designer, Lauren Embree, asked me to walk wearing one of her pieces – I’m very excited! The event takes place in three weeks, so I’ll post some pictures of the evening.

…But now to the main event…my Mimi brought me two grocery bags of Georgia Peaches a couple of weeks ago. I ate most of them, but the last few needed to be used ASAP! So, I decided some Peach Muffins would be just the ticket. I took the recipe from Post Punk Kitchen, so they deserve all the credit. I just subbed a mix of white and whole wheat pastry flour for the spelt flour, so you could use spelt if you had it on hand. These little nuggets turned out SO delicious! Enjoy!

Vegan Brown Sugar Peach Muffins

2 1/2 cups white/whole wheat pastry flour (I did 2/3 white, 1/3 wwp)

3/4 cup brown sugar, plus a little extra for sprinkling

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons ground ginger

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 cup applesauce

1 cup almond milk

1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar

1/3 cup canola oil

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 cups chopped peaches

Preheat oven to 375 F. Lightly grease a muffin tin or use liners.
In a large mixing bowl, stir together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and spices. Make a well in the center and add the applesauce, almond milk, vinegar, canola oil and vanilla. Stir with a wooden spoon until mostly combined. Add the peaches and combine until the dry ingredients are just incorporated.

Scoop batter into muffin tins. Fill 3/4 full. Sprinkle one teaspoons of brown sugar on top of each. Bake for 28 to 32 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted through the center comes out clean. Let cool for a few minutes in the tin then transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

