Dark Chocolate Peppermint Chewies

So, you know when you start a recipe and then realize you’re out of something…we’ll, that happened this afternoon. But instead of dumping the aromatic melted german chocolate, soy butter, and vanilla mixture I simmering on the stove, I decided to whip up a little brownie version of my own! A little of this, a dash of that, and 15 minutes later I ended up with a very tasty brownie batter (hopefully the end product tastes as delicious as the batter!)

Dark Chocolate Peppermint Chewies

4 oz German Chocolate

1 stick Earth Balance Soy Butter

1/2 cup Brown Sugar

1/2 cup Granulated Sugar

2 tsp Vanilla Extract

3 tbsp Ground Flax

9 tbsp Water

1/4 tsp Peppermint Extract

3 tbsp Dark Chocolate Cocoa Powder

1 cup plus 2 tbsp White Flour

Directions

Preheat oven to 350. Line a 9×13 pan with tin foil or grease with butter.

In a small sauce pan, melt butter and german chocolate. Add brown sugar, sugar, and vanilla to the melted mixture. In a large bowl mix ground flax and water. Let sit for 5 minutes. Add chocolate mixture to the flax mixture. Mix. Add in peppermint extract and dark chocolate powder. Add in white flour. Mix with a spatula or wooden spoon.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Well, I took these little ladies out of the oven and they look great. Now the measure of success will be how they taste! After about 10 minutes of cooling, I couldn’t wait any longer…so, I cut off a corner and took a bite. I would consider this little recipe I whipped up a success!

If I had to judge this one (okay, I guess I will!), I’d give it an 8 out of 10. The consistency is pretty good (think of those Little Debbie brownies with the color sprinkles on top…ah, childhood memories) and the amount of peppermint is perfect (I think orange would work just as well!). To get these to a 10 out of 10, I suggest a few different options: a chocolate ganache frosting, adding 1/2 cup of mini chips to the batter (I would have done this if I had any on hand), or sprinkle the top with powdered sugar. For a trifecta effect – try all three! Overall I’d say it’s a pretty good chewie vegan brownie recipe and I’ll keep it on hand to make again!

Leave a Reply

