10 Flights in 13 Days

Yes, that’s right. In the next two weeks I’ll ‘get to’ take 10 take-offs and touch-downs! That’s a lot of travel (and Delta Biscoff Cookies!). I’m guessing I may have a bumpy ride or two (the odds are in my favor for this), but I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the friendly skies will be super nice to me!

This little (long) work trip will take me to some fun cities along the way, so I’m looking forward to that. Thursday I leave and my first stop is Chicago. Believe it or not, with all my traveling I’ve never been to Chicago. That crazy, right? It’s a city I hear so many good things about, so I’m really looking forward to it. Plus, my favorite neighbor I’ve ever had relocated to the city last year. So, I get to spend the weekend with her! Yeah! I’m really pumped about that part.

Then after Chicago I’m headed back to Kansas for a couple of days. Driving through the Flint Hills last week, the sunflowers were still around and very gorgeous, so the travel in the state should be nice. Then Tuesday I catch a flight out of Kansas City down to my home state of Mississippi! I’ll visit my Mississippi libraries and then spend a little time with family and friends the following weekend. In fact, it’s the weekend of my 10 year high school reunion (gasp!). Can you believe I’ve been out of high school for 10 years…I don’t feel that old. In fact, I don’t feel a day over 23! …hopefully my young, girlish looks will stay with me for another 10 (or dare I say 20) years!

I’m looking forward to spending the weekend in Columbia, MS where so many of my fond childhood memories reside! In fact, I’m staying the weekend at my childhood best friends parents abode. So, it really will be like middle sleep overs all over again! I’ll be sure to post some pictures from the festivities of the homecoming game and dinner the following evening. I’ve actually kept in touch with a handful of folks from middle school/jr. high and look forward to seeing the rest in my small little class of 90(ish) folks. (Just a funny side note, I didn’t actually graduate from this school, as I moved to Hattiesburg, MS my Junior year, but I did go to school with these kids from 2nd – 10th grade. …that’s not awkward or anything, right?!)

After Mississippi I catch a flight to Lexington, KY for a day at UK. Though I really won’t have much time to spend in Lexington, I’m hoping that the leaves will be starting to turn and I’ll get another bought of fall before heading back to Fayetteville on Tuesday night. With the way I see it, the leaves should be changing and the air nice and crisp in Chicago, the Kansas City area should be starting to turn colors, midway through the trip I’ll return to a bit of humidity (thought it’s only in the upper 70’s/low 80’s in MS – so I’ll take that!), and then I’ll see some more fall on the tail end of the trip. Overall, it should be really fun. I’m planning some great runs and adventures, so stay tuned for (hopefully) some fun travel posts!

Leave a Reply

