Sweet Potato Cinnamon Rolls w/ Maple Peanut Butter Frosting

Overcast skies + red and yellow leaves + a lazy Sunday afternoon = baking! …at least for me that is! I had high hopes to get a bit of baking and sewing done yesterday, but after starting a book by an author I really like, I only got one thing on my to do list done! However, I did finish a lovely novel yesterday, which was well worth the time spent with my nose in a book. As for the baking aspect of my afternoon, I’ve been wanting to whip up a batch of cinnamon rolls for weeks now, but could never find the time to wait the 3 or so hours needed to make a batch. So, when the weather turned overcast yesterday and I had a free afternoon, the timing was perfect! Earlier in the day I thought I’d decided on Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls, but when I realized I had a bit of Sweet Potato Puree on hand that changed.  Knowing I wanted to experiment with a maple frosting, I decided sweet potato and maple sounded wonderful together!  So, loosely basing this on a recipe I found on Vegetarian Times, I ended up with the delicious creation below! …and might I add (of course, not bias in any way) that it’s probably in the top 5 best cinnamon roll batches I’ve ever made!

Sweet Potato Cinnamon Rolls with Maple Peanut Butter Frosting

Sweet Potato Dough

2 1/4 tsp yeast

1/3 cup of warm water

3 1/2 cups of bread flour

1/4 cup Sugar

1 tsp salt

2 tbsp coconut oil

1/3 cup almond milk

2/3 cup of mashed sweet potato

1 tsp vanilla

Cinnamon Sugar Filling

2 tbsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1/3 cup packed brown sugar

2 tbsp soy butter, room temp

Maple Peanut Butter Icing

2 1/2 cups powdered sugar

1 tbsp maple syrup

2 tbsp peanut butter

1/3 to 1/2 cup of almond milk

2 tbsp brewed coffee (optional)

Directions

To make Sweet Potato Dough: Stir yeast and 1 tsp sugar into 1/3 cup warm (105°–115°F) water until dissolved. Let stand 10 minutes.  Combine flour, sugar, and salt in a bowl. (Reserve 1/3 cup flour if kneading by hand.)  Stir sweet potato and coconut oil into 1/3 cup almond milk. Combine yeast mixture and sweet potato mixture in the bowl of your mixer. Add dry mixture to the wet mix, using a dough hook on low-speed until all incorporated. Let dough hook knead for 6-7 minutes. After that, place dough in oiled bowl; cover. Let rise 1 hour in a warm place, or until doubled in volume.

To make Cinnamon Sugar Filling: Stir together brown sugar, nutmeg, pumpkin pie mix and cinnamon in bowl. Grease 13- x 9-inch Pyrex dish or baking sheet with shortening.

After the first rise, roll dough into 14- x 12-inch rectangle. Spread with soy butter. Sprinkle cinnamon sugar mixture over dough.  Starting at long edge, roll up dough. Cut roll crosswise into 12 1-inch-thick 
pieces, and place on prepared baking sheet. Cover, and let rise in warm place 45 minutes, or until doubled in size.

Preheat oven to 350°F. Bake buns 
20 to 22 minutes, or until golden.

To make Maple Glaze: Combine powdered sugar, maple syrup, peanut butter, almond milk and brewed coffee in a large bowl. Mix by hand with a whisk until the texture is that of a thick glaze.  Spread glaze over warm buns.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

