Is it really December?

I felt like yesterday was Thanksgiving. What happened to November, crisp mornings, and the leaves on trees? Things are bare here and the weather folks are even predicting a bit of winter snow in a couple of days! I believe today will be my last warm-ish run before this winter front comes through. So, as much as I just want to sit and sip on my pumpkin spice coffee, I know I need to lace up those running shoes before the rain comes in this afternoon!

It’s been quite a couple of weeks since I last posted and I’ve done quite a bit of baking. The Mister and I stayed in Fayetteville for Thanksgiving and made our own little vegan thanksgiving dinner – complete with Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie and everything! In fact…I was just trying to find where I put my Mimi’s dressing recipe I made vegan a few minutes ago, but guess my ‘safe keeping’ spot was a little to ‘safe’ for my memory! I’ll post it in the next couple days when I locate it! In the meantime, I tried two Delicious new recipes for breakfast and dessert on Thanksgiving Day. We woke up to Vegan Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread (and I can’t locate the link for the recipe for this one either, but it was amazing…when I find it, I’ll post it). Then the pie for dessert was to die for – worth every calorie! This Peanut Butter Chocolate Mousse Pie turned out wonderful. So wonderful that we didn’t share any. Not one bite! This recipe should definitely make it into your recipe box!

For Thanksgiving dinner I made all the staple Southern cooking goods – homemade cornbread dressing, green beans, mashed potatoes, french bread….MMMmmm….

Since we have the shop now, Christmas kind of starts the day after Thanksgiving! We opened a bit earlier than normal that day and had a wonderful first holiday weekend at the shop. I was able to find a few 1950’s tinsel Christmas trees to decorate the windows with and found a few more in Tulsa last week that are on their way over with my in-laws today! Once they are all up in their wonderful shiny glory, I’ll post a few pictures of the shop windows. These little ladies are such beautiful trees – it’s a shame they went out of style in the 60’s! We also had our holiday open house on Thursday and I played Suzy-homemaker and baked three types of cupcakes for that – Vegan Crimson Velveteen Cupcakes with ‘Cream Cheese’ Frosting, Vegan Peanut Butter Cupcakes with Drizzled Chocolate Ganache, and Vegan Dark Chocolate Peppermint Cupcakes with Peppermint ‘Butter’cream Frosting and Chocolate Ganache. Yum! It’s just breakfast now, but I think I can go for a sweet…what am I saying, I can always go for something sweet! All these recipes came from Vegan Cupcakes Take over the World – it’s my go to book for vegan cupcakes. I’ve never been disappointed with a recipe!

So…pictures! Here are all the lovely baking creations from the past two weeks. …I’ll try to find Mimi’s dressing recipe I made vegan in that ‘safe’ place I put it and post it soon!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

