Vegan Chocolate Peanut Butter Cheesecake

You know when you see an old friend and conversation picks back up right where it left off, even if it’s been months or years? Well…hello old friend!

It’s been a super busy couple months. Let’s see, the Mr. and I purchased a downtown lot where we plan to build our dream home (probably years from now, but hey, we do have .1 acre in our little nook of the world!), I’ve been traveling a bit with work this spring and that’s been good, and the shop turned 1 earlier this month! I feel like I’m always on the go, but that’s not a bad thing! I’ve still been baking, sewing (a little), running – we are going to Colorado this coming weekend to run the Colorado Marathon in Ft. Collins – reading and drinking good coffee. It’s been a good spring, but I am hoping for a little slower pace this summer (…and maybe for the weather to be mild!).

In true fashion with my normal weekend plans, I did a bit of baking. I needed to use my last bit of vegan cream cheese (the expiration date was creeping up on me…and using something after that date sort of creeps me out!), so I decided to go with a cheesecake recipe. I mean, when is cheesecake for dinner not a bad idea?! After searching my cabinets for what I had on hand, I decided to go with a chocolate peanut butter combo. Again, when is that not a bad idea?! So a bit of processing and watching the oven to make sure it cooked just perfectly and…ta da!

Now that your mouth is watering, here is the recipe:

1 whole wheat vegan pie crust (you can make your own or use a graham cracker crust for a more traditional cheesecake feel)

1 12 oz container of extra firm silken tofu
1/2 cup of soy milk (I did use light vanilla)
1 8oz container of vegan cream cheese
3 tbsp ground flax-seed
3/4 cup of vegan sugar
2 tsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350. Process tofu and soy milk until smooth. Add the cream cheese and process until smooth. Add flax-seed, vegan sugar, lemon juice and 1/2 tsp vanilla. Process until very smooth. Take 1/2 that mixture and transfer it to another bowl (I usually eyeball things like this, so just split the mixture as close to half as possible and you’ll be fine!

1 cup of vegan chocolate chips, melted

In the processor mix 1/2 the tofu mixture with the melted vegan chocolate chips until smooth. Transfer to the bottom of the pie crust.

1/2 plus 2 tbsp chunky peanut butter

Add the remaining tofu mixture and the peanut butter (I also eyeballed the pb, so I believe that’s about what I used – between a 1/2 cup and 3/4 cup) – to a clean processor of course! Process until smooth. Spread the peanut butter mixture on top of the chocolate mixture. Bake for 55 minutes. Turn the oven off and then keep the pie in the oven another 10-15 minutes. Remove and let cool on a wire rack for at least an hour. I then put it in the fridge to chill. You can eat this warm also, which would probably be just as good.

I believe a scoop of peanut butter chocolate soy ice cream would have really made this awesome, but as it stands the pie along was super delicious!

I promise to not let time fly by between posts again! I promise lots of gorgeous Colorado pictures and race details from next weekend. After that I’m back in Nashville again and I’m sure something rad will happen (it always does in that city!). In fact, I was there last weekend for work and stayed to hang out with an old (awesome) friend…turns out Punch Brothers were playing, so we were able to catch a show from one of my favorite bands. So much fun! …now, I think I need a second piece of that pie…mmmmm…..

Leave a Reply

