Raw-r!

So, about two weeks ago I decided to eat raw for 30 days. Well, almost raw…I’m not giving up my morning cup of hot coffee! But besides the coffee I’ve eaten raw for almost two weeks now. I’ve been eating LOTS of fruits, veggies, and nuts and am having fun ‘cooking’ raw goodies. You know me and my 10 sweet teeth…my favorite so far is raw coconut chocolate haystacks. Oh, back to why I did this – I was feeling sort of blah and thought this might be the kick I needed to set everything back to the way it should be. Since embarking on this, I haven’t felt tired, sluggish, or hungry once. I love being able to eat anytime I want and still feel great. I’ve even convinced the mister to join in for a bit. (I’m not sure how long he’ll do this, but I stocked up on loads of great foods for the week!)

Brian and I spent the last week in Las Vegas (ah, sunshine!) at Market for the shop. While there we frequented the Whole Foods on the strip and they had this delicious raw fall apple smoothie (I’m pretty sure I had it every day!). So, today I embarked on recreating this delicious drink and believe I’ve come very close! It’s not the exact match, but it’s so close and so delicious. Sort of like a warm apple pie on a cold day. It was a perfect end to a busy week!

=

Raw Cinnamon Apple Smoothie

1 1/2 Granny Smith Apples (cored and sliced)

2 tbsp raw pecan halves

1 tsp cinnamon

4 oz of coconut water (more if needed as you blend)

1 1/2 cups of ice

Put all ingredients in your blender and blend for a couple minutes. Add a dash of cinnamon to the top and enjoy!

 

One thought on “Raw-r!

  1. thats cool ash! it is funny because when chris and i told you we were going raw last year you thought it was strange, your response was like, why!?! so its cool you are liking it. it is good to do it at least 60% of your day!

Leave a Reply

