Run, Rest, Run…

Let’s see…it’s been quite a busy couple of months. We moved into the new house (yippee!) and I’ve been on the road almost every other week. I’ve traveled to Portland/Mt. Hood, New Orleans, Baton Rouge, Little Rock, Wichita, Kansas City, and Rochester – put over 2000 miles on the ol’ Subaru! There were may highlights in the last few weeks. In no particular order: Birthday 70 mile bike ride (Little Rock Gran Fondo…should I mention Mr. Lance Armstrong was there – way to fast for me, but I did see him strolling up to the start line), trail runs around Mt. Hood and getting to stay at Timberline Lodge, visiting the sisters and nephew in Portland, plus lots and lots of good PDX vegan food! I also started running again (yeah!) and now weird feet things are hurting, so I’m on and off again running at the moment. Since some friends and I got in the St. George Utah Marathon lottery for the Oct. 4 marathon, these ‘kinks’ should work themselves out soon! On the plus side, I’m getting a nice tan from pool water running on my lunch breaks. I also went to the deep South for a few work meetings and crossed paths with my Mississippi and Louisiana family and that’s always nice. And finally, I got to enjoy a delicious meal at my favorite Kansas City restaurant last week – Café Gratitude – while on my way to watch my brother play in the Wichita Air Capital Classic Web.com tournament. He made the cut and on the last day, as of 4 holes into his last 18 he’s tied for 12th!

Audubon Park Trail - New Orleans, LA

Audubon Park Trail – New Orleans, LA

If the sky was blue, you'd see Mt. Hood!

If the sky was blue, you’d see Mt. Hood!

On the home front (literally!) we moved into the new house in late May and it’s wonderful! It’s even better than I imagined. It feels huge compared to our dark 550 sq/ft rental! I’m loving the outdoor spaces and can’t wait for all the landscaping and fence to go up this week. We’ve got a little housewarming planned for this coming weekend, so those boys better hurry it up! Everything came together beautifully and I’m so grateful that we had the opportunity to do this and the wonderful architects that helped flesh out our vision. Here is a little ‘tour’ of some of my favorite things in the house…

Sitting on the Master Balcony

Sitting on the Master Balcony

Matt Miller Art in the Living Room

Matt Miller Art in the Living Room

I LOVE the wallpaper in our downstairs bathroom!

I LOVE the wallpaper in our downstairs bathroom!

Awesome Gingiber Prints in our Living Room.

Awesome Gingiber Prints in our Living Room.

I designed these cabinets just for my Russel Wright Pottery!

I designed these cabinets just for my Russel Wright Pottery!

The end of June and early July is shaping up to be a more quiet part of the summer. I only have one work travel week in the next 4 weeks and I’m pumped to get some office time to get things done! I want to be fully caught up with work again and should be in the next couple of weeks. Plus, the next two weekends are 3-day weekends for me and I can also get some things done on my house to-do list!

I’ve also been baking like crazy in the new kitchen! I made some delicious raw food protein bars today and have whipped up banana bread and homemade vegan biscuits almost daily! I’ll be posting some of my new recipes and dishes I’ve been working on in the coming days so keep your eyes peeled for some of that goodness!

Leave a Reply

