Raw-gust

You read that right, Raw-gust! I’ve somehow convinced the Mister to eat raw with me for an entire month. I sort of can’t believe he agreed to it! Over the last year I’ve adopted a mainly raw vegan diet. There were a few months when I went back to my cooked vegan diet (aka – the holidays! mmmmm….vegan baked goods!). That’s not to say I won’t enjoy a vegan baked goodie every once in a while or a lovely bowl of steamed kale and brown rice, but I know I feel the best when eating a high-raw vegan diet (raw 90%+ of the time). So about 7 weeks ago I moved back into that way of eating and have been feeling much better.

In the last year of moving towards eating mainly raw foods, I’ve collected all the tools of the raw trade – Vitamix, dehydrator, super powerful processor, sprializer, sprouting tools…(thank you Craigslist for the Exaclibur Dehydrator!). My latest thing has been working on my sprouting skills – chickpeas, buckwheat, alfalfa, lentils, etc. I’m doing well. In fact, so far the only fail has been trying to sprout kidney beans!

Oh, but back to raw-gust – a few weeks ago I threw out a challenge of sorts to go the entire month of August eating raw in our household. I’ve been making a cooked dinner and a raw dinner each night and part of this was I selfishly wanted to just make one meal. Though, since I love to cook so much, I never minded the making of a cooked or baked meal in addition to my dinner, but I know I’ll get much more creative with B eating raw with me. We’ll just say a salad a day doesn’t excite him; whereas, I could eat a kale salad or smoothie for every meal! So here is where the sprouting ties into the post…I did a ton of sprouting this week to prep for week 1 of raw. There is a HUGE batch of sprouted buckwheat apple cinnamon raisin granola dehydrating right now, lentils and chickpeas ready to go in the fridge, and the first batch of alfalfa sprouts have about 3 days until they are fully mature (though I doubt he’ll touch those!). I’ve been looking forward to this for about two weeks now and can’t wait to try out some creative recipes. I thought as we embarked on this little adventure in our house, that I’d try my best to post a few of my raw recipes a week (starting with the sprouted granola below).

For the travel, I think the most challenging part will be the 10 day trip in mid-August. On the plus side, it’s to New York and Las Vegas, so I think our eating out options are great (plus both cities boast many Whole Foods locations, which are perfect in a pinch!).

sprouting

sprouts, sprouts, and …more sprouts!

After the buckwheat (far left jar) finished doing it’s overnight soaking, I sprouted it for two days and then crafted a lovely granola to last up for a few weeks. This is my go to grawnola recipe because it’s always good. I tend to use whatever ‘extras’ I have on hand for flavors, but I always start with the same base. This week I had chia seeds, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds, unsweetened coconut, and cinnamon on hand.

Grawnola

2-3 cups of buckwheat grouts

Soak your buckwheat overnight (get the raw buckwheat – kasha {roasted buckwheat} doesn’t sprout). I just put a few cups (or whatever amount I scooped out of the bulk section at the co-op) in a large (2 liter I think), wide-mouth ball jar and fill to the top with water and then put a lid on it) and soak overnight. In the morning I rinse it (buckwheat gets sort of slimy when it’s soaked, so rinse well until that layer comes off). Then I leave it in the colander and set it in my largest pyrex mixing bowl and cover it with a cheesecloth. Each morning and evening for two days I’ll rinse it and place it back on my counter out of direct sunlight. After about 2 days you should have some nice little sprouts and it will be ready for the next stage!

base:

1/2 cup of raw sunflower seeds (soaked)

2 granny smith apples

1/2 cup of pitted dates

I usually soak the sunflower seeds the evening before I want to whip this granola up and then rinse/drain them the next morning. In my food processor I mix the 1/2 cup of soaked sun seeds, 1/2 cup of dates, and 2 cored/peeled apples until I get an applesauce-like substance. I transfer this to a large pyrex dish and then add in my sprouted buckwheat. Mix really good by hand and then add in the following ingredients (or whatever you have on hand):

add ins:

1/2 – 1 cup of soaked raw nuts (more sunflower seeds, almonds or walnuts work great too!)

1/2 cup of soaked raw pumpkin seeds

1/2 cup or so of soaked raw sesame seeds

a few tablespoons of cinnamon (I use 2-3 because I love cinnamon in my grawnola!)

You can also add a dash of ginger, nutmeg, or other spices you love for flavor

1/2 cup or so of unsweetened shredded coconut (I just eyeball everything! This is also a great place to use leftover coconut meat from when you whip up raw coconut milk – I love doing that!)

I soak the nuts the night before I’m going to whip this up. Then I’ll drain them in the morning and ix all those things together well and then spread over 3 teflex sheets on your dehydrator trays. I typically dehydrate these all day (8-10 hours) and then I take them and break them up and put them on the mesh sheets and dehydrate again until crispy. Sometimes this takes a few more hours, others I’ll run overnight again if they had a lot of liquid in them to start with. Once done, just break up and store in an airtight container for up to a month or so (if they last that long!). Once all dry, I tend to add some dried fruits and cocoa nibs for a sweet treat to mine.

I’ve got a raw taco salad on the docket for this weekend, so if it turns out as wonderful as I’m imagining, I’ll share it with you!

One thought on “Raw-gust

  1. Well this little teaser has made me glad that Michael and I are going to begin the transition to a mainly raw/vegan startup this month as well.
    I will definitely use your words of wisdom and insight for getting the right tools, ingredients, and recipes
    We are looking forward to feeling better and having more energy! Thanks for the encouraging post!!

Leave a Reply

