Running, Raw Week, and Bliss

So, we’re halfway through week 1 of Rawgust. Though nothing too new for me, I’ve been very creative to keep the Mister interested in eating raw for the month. …apparently he’s giving me at least one week of raw. I’ll take it! Hopefully he feels so amazing after a week, he commits to two, then the entire month! I’ve been trying lots of new dinner recipes from some of my amazing raw cookbooks and favorite blogs. Raw Pad Thai is probably my favorite at this point. In addition, I’ve been keeping something a little sweet in the freezer for a PM treat. Raw Brownies are on the agenda to make today.

On the running front, I feel like I’m finally getting back in the game. I ran three miles at a 9:15 pace earlier this week. That may sound like a slow pace and it use to be my long run pace, but when my weekend long runs are running at 10:30-10:45 pace miles, I’ll take anything sub 10 for the shorter weekday runs! I felt great after it and still was able to chat the entire run with friends (which probably means I could have pushed it a bit more, but baby steps…right?!). I’m really getting excited for the Utah Marathon we’re running in October. Now that my long runs are in the 12+ range, I finally feel like it’s possible to run a few hours at a time again. So much so, I’m considering running the New Hampshire Marathon the first weekend of November. I’ll make that decision later this month, but I’m eyeing it closely!

So, as far as my recipe tease/promise I made on my last post, I thought I’d share my go-to sweet treat that I keep in the freezer at almost all times! These little cookie balls take minutes to whip up. They are the perfect sweet bite after dinner and can be mixed up with any combo of fruit/nuts for tons of different flavor combos.

Raw Bliss Balls

3/4 cup of raw oats

3 T of sweetener (I usually use what I have on hand – maple syrup, agave, 1-2 dates, etc.)

3 T melted coconut oil

1/2 t vanilla extract or a bit of vanilla bean

2 T raw nut butter (optional)

Process oats the oats to flower in your food processor. Add in the rest of the ingredients listed above and process until they all stick together. Then I usually throw in other goodies I have on hand (examples below – I typically put 2 or 3 of the following combos in and mix with a wooden spoon):

3 T unsweetened coconut shreds

3 T cocoa nibs

1/4 cup of raisins or other dried fruit

1/4 cup of chopped raw nuts

After you’ve mixed all of it together, roll into small balls (or better yet, use a melon scoop to portion size these out – it can be really easy to eat half the dough and before you realize it they are gone!). I put these in a container lined with wax paper and put in the freezer for safe keeping. Usually they only last a few days, but they will keep for a couple of week (probably longer) in the freezer

 

One thought on “Running, Raw Week, and Bliss

  1. Thanks for sharing
    sounds really good. We were just looking for a sweet treat after dinner last night.
    This would have fit the bill

Leave a Reply

