Raw Protein Ball Nuggets

I am not always adventurous with my raw recipe creating yet. At this point I can pretty much whip up any type of vegan cookie, cake, bread; I can ‘vegan-ize’ almost any of the southern meals and sweets I grew up on and produce a finished good that’s almost identical to the original. With raw vegan recipes I’m a little more timid. I have a nice collection of cookbooks and go-to blogs when I’m feeling like a new dinner or snack, but I don’t always just pull something out of my head when I want to try a new creation. I’m getting there and I know it will come, but it does take practice and some trail and error!

After my 12 mile run today (yes, I ran a whole pain-free 12 miles. I was slow as molasses, but I finished in good shape!), I was feeling a little frisky today and decided to venture out of my comfort zone a bit and just throw things in my food processer and see what I came up with. I wanted something I could eat after a long run or hard workout and know I’m getting lots of superfood ingredients, as well as a little ‘treat’! …you know what I mean! So, here is what I came up with and if I say so myself, they are delish! And for lack of a creative name (drumroll please), here are –

Raw Protein Nuggets (raw, vegan, gluten-free)

1/4 c of raw nut butter (I used some raw pecan butter I had just made up)

3/4 c of almond meal (process whole almonds into meal)

2 T. maca powder

1 1/2 t. spirulina

4 T. raw hemp protein powder (I used chocolate – yum! but any flavor works)

2 T. raw cocoa powder

3 T. coconut oil (melted)

3 T. raw coconut nectar (or use maple syrup or other sweetener of choice)

1/4 t. sea salt

Combine all the above into your food processor and process until it sticks together. From here, you can take large tablespoon sized scoops and roll into balls, or you can add in some ‘mixins’ for a little party! I added:

1/4 cup raisins (or other dried fruit – goji berries would be super tasty!)

roll the balls in unsweetened shredded coconut, or mix in a few tablespoons

Other ideas: raw cocoa nibs, sesame seeds or nuts

Mix in the additional ingredients with a wooden spoon and make the balls. I put them in a container and just stick them in the freezer. I was able to get about 10-12 balls out of this recipe. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

