Vegan Orange Oatmeal Cookies

Rawgust turned out to be a great month. I dare say B looks as good as he’s ever looked! We had fun and stayed true the entire month. I must say September has been filled with baking. There is something about fall and baking that go hand in hand. Like peanut butter and jelly. Cream and Sugar. Cosby and pudding. You get the idea! So, I’ve been making the most of my shiny new kitchen and learning more about my amazing Viking oven. We’ve had the best batch of pecan sticky buns I’ve ever made, lots of cookies {see below for a yummy accidental recipe}, and pumpkin breads. Baking in the fall just feels right! We’re still eating lots of raw meals, but warm soups and comfort vegan foods are making their way back into the mix!

Aside from food and weather (very fall like I might add!), we’ve been home most of this month, which is a nice change. I feel like every other week since January I’ve been in the car or flying somewhere. Don’t get me wrong, travel is amazing. But I love working from my office, getting up before sunrise to run the city trails, and hanging out with family and friends. Sometimes on the road the creature comforts of home are hard to come by. October is looking to be a mostly home month too. I’ve got 10 days or so on the road, which isn’t too bad since it’s all at once. We leave on Thursday morning to fly to Las Vegas and then drive on up to St. George, Utah for the St. George Marathon. I’m really looking forward to my first marathon of 2014. It’s been too long since these legs got in a marathon and they are itching to run one! Sometimes they have a mind of their own! Then I’m headed to Portland to visit my sisters and nephew (yeah!) then over to Chicago/Western Michigan for a few days of work. I’m so looking forward to fall in the upper Midwest and plan on enjoying the time I get in Portland with family and Chicago with friends. It should be a very tiring, but amazing week-ish on the road!

So, back to baking. Let’s circle around and end the post with a recipe. I was low on baking staples yesterday, but thought I could whip up some cookies to take to our employees on Friday. I knew our shop girls would appreciate this, so I threw things together yesterday and ended up with a very delicious Vegan Orange Oatmeal Cookie. It was sandi-like in texture, but still had that melt in your mouth quality a good oatmeal cookie has. So, here is my accidentally amazing cookie!

Vegan Orange Oatmeal Cookie

1 stick earth balance butter (room temp)

2-3 T coconut oil

3/4 cup of brown sugar

1/4 cup of maple syrup

2 T coconut milk or other non-dairy milk

1/2 t vanilla extract

1/2 t orange extract

1 t cinnamon

1 t baking soda

pinch of salt

1 cup flour (I used white, but you can easily use other types – it’s what I had on hand)

3/4 cup of almonds

2 T coconut butter

2 1/4 cups of Rolled Oats (quick or regular – if using regular, cut down to 2 cups)

1/3 cup of raw cocoa nibs (or raisins)

Preheat oven to 350. Cream the butter and coconut oil. Add in the brown sugar and whip. Add in extracts and coconut milk. In the meantime, in your food processor, process the almonds, coconut butter, and maple syrup until sticky. Add to the mixing bowl and beat for about 30 seconds. In a separate bowl, combine the dry ingredients (baking soda, cinnamon, salt, flour). Add to the wet ingredients and mix until combined. Stir in the rolled oats and nibs. Roll dough into 1/2 balls. Bake for 10 min. Remove from the oven and use the back of your spatula to flatten a bit. Bake for 1-2 more minutes. Let cool 5 min on the cookie sheet and then move to a wire rack to cool all the way. Makes 2 dozen or so cookies.

Leave a Reply

