Goji and Orange Grawnola

Grawnola

With the leaves in full color and our first freeze on the way tomorrow night, I’ve been in the baking and dehydrating mood. In fact, I planned a little Halloween get together tonight as an excuse to get friends together and bake! I’ll probably end up with way too many baked goods…shucks! I’ve started a Vegan Candy Corn Cake (I’ll post this if it turns out worth of a writing!), Vegan Dirt Cake, Raw Snickerdoodle Macaroons, Vegan Rolos, and Vegan Candy Corn – all homemade, of course! In addition to making these goodies, I make a giant batch of grawnola and it’s the best batch to date by far! That being said, I thought I needed to share it. The recipe is based on one from the book Organic Alley: Recipes for Life, Made with LOVE*.

I took most of the suggestions of the Gracious Granola recipe and added/removed a few things. Next batch I will replace the oranges and orange juice with carrot pulp and carrot juice and double up on the raisins and cinnamon and remove the goji berries to make some carrot cake granola. I also cut down a lot of the sugar in the recipe because I am not a fan of sweet granola….well, that’s actually a lie, I am, but I eat it like candy! So, to make this a great topping for chia puddings and smoothies (and to keep me from devouring it in one day!) I kept it on the not so sweet side.

Goji and Orange Grawnola

2 cups buckwheat groats

1 cup pumpkin seeds

1 cup sunflower seeds

1 cup dates, pitted

1 cup of orange juice (fresh squeezed or juiced – about 2 oranges)

Zest of 1 orange

1 cup of unsweetened coconut flakes

1 cup of hemp seeds

1 cup of chia seeds

1 cup of goji berries

1 cup of golden raisins

1/2 cup of maple syrup (use raw coconut syrup or coconut sugar for fully raw)

1/2 cup of lucuma powder

1/4 cup of cocoa nibs

2 tbsp. vanilla powder

3 tbsp. cinnamon

pinch of salt

In a large bowl combine buckwheat groats and water (they expand quite a bit). Soak overnight and then drain. I put in a colander and let sit again for 2 days, rinsing morning and evening to sprout. If you’re in a hurry, skip the sprouting and start here. In a container place the sunflower and pumpkin seeds – cover with water and soak overnight. In a different jar, put the dates and orange juice together and soak overnight. Now you’ll have three jars of soaked groats, seeds, and dates. In your food processor process the dates and oj until it is a past. Add the seeds to the buckwheat groats. Add the date mixture to the groats/seed mixture. In a large bowl combine the rest of the ingredients. Mix the dry ingredients with the groats mixture.

Spread the grawnola on three dehydrator sheets lined with Paraflexx. Dehydrate at 110 for 12 hours. Break apart and dehydrate another 5-10 hours (depending on how crispy you like it). Yum!

Grawnola Jar

Leave a Reply

