Vegan Candy Corn

Happy Halloween! My little Halloween shindig went off without a hitch. The problem now is that I have so many sugary treats left. I guess our employees and neighbors might end up with some hauntingly good treats! When all was said and done I ended up with a spread of Vegan Candy Corn, Raw Rolos, Raw Snickerdoodle Macaroons, Vegan Candy Corn Cake, and Vampire Apple Bites. Oh, and don’t forget a few varieties of pumpkin ale! It was super yummy and way too much sugar, but I figure one night of treats once in a while is okay.

Vegan Candy Corn

Making candy is something I haven’t really attempted before. Since it had been years since I have had candy corn (between the crappy ingredients, color dyes, and the fact they aren’t vegan), I thought I would attempt a batch. I call it a success! I would make these again, but probably cut the recipe in half because I ended up with a few dozen pieces and they are so rich and sweet I can only stomach one piece a day! They do make for lovely cake decorating bits and are great for sharing! Here is how I made these little cuties:

Vegan Candy Corn

1 cup sugar (I actually used only 1/2 a cup of a mix of stevia/sugar to cut back on the sugar)
2/3 cup corn syrup (organic – do not use high fructose corn syrup)
5 tablespoons Earth Balance Butter
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1/3 cup powdered soy milk
pinch of sea salt
for food coloring: turmeric powder (1-2 tbsp.) for yellow, and 1/4 cup of cocoa powder for brown

In a large saucepan, bring the sugar, corn syrup, Earth Balance, and vanilla to a boil over high heat. Reduce the heat to medium and boil for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. After 5 minutes, remove from heat.

In a bowl mix the powdered sugar, powdered soy milk, and salt. Add the powdered sugar mixture to saucepan stir to combine. Let sit for 20-30 min or so until it thickens up even more. Divide the dough into 3 equal pieces.

I used some wax paper to set the three pieces on. I then covered a large cutting board with a thin layer of powdered sugar so the ball of dough wouldn’t stick to it (it will be a little sticky to the touch). Take one ball and then the turmeric and kneed the turmeric into the dough. Add a little more powdered sugar if too sticky. Kneed for 5-10 min or until the dough is fully colored. Repeat with the cocoa powder and color that ball brown. I also kneaded the white piece with a little powdered sugar. Let sit for another 10 min to rest.

Take each ball and roll out into a piece of rope. When you have three equal size pieces of rope put all three together and then take a sharp knife and cut into triangles. l was able to get about 3-4 dozen pieces of candy corn from this batch. They are much larger than normal candy corn.

Store in an airtight container for up to a week or so. Do not put in the fridge or freezer because the texture could change. Sugar tooth yumminess!

Decorate a Cake with the Candy Corn!

Decorate a Cake with the Candy Corn!

Leave a Reply

