Recipes: Mulberry Powder

RAWgust has been going well. I’ve gotten to travel to a few cities that have dedicated raw restaurants, which is a big treat. Rockin’ Raw in NYC has been the favorite so far. I am making a trip to Omaha over Labor Day weekend for a marathon and am looking forward to stopping in Kansas City for some Café Gratitude! Since eating out raw is a little tricky (mostly I stick to the salad bar at Whole Foods), I’ve been whipping up lots of goodies at home.

One of my favorite places to find random raw ingredients is TJ Maxx. I know, right – TJ Maxx?! You’d be so surprised…I promise! Just walk back into the kitchen/bake ware section and most of them have a row of random coffees, spices, oils, and packaged goods. I’m usually able to find the best price on goji berries, cocoa nibs, flax seeds, and raw nuts here. Plus every so often I find something I’ve never used before. Case in point – Mulberry Powder. Dried mulberries are hands down my favorite dried fruit. If I’m not careful I’ll finish off a small bag of them without a second thought! So, when I ran across some mulberry powder on sale, I had to try it out.

Honestly, it’s been in my fridge for a few weeks now. At first I added it to smoothies, but this past weekend I took a stab at baking with it. Since it’s a powder, I figured that I could replace ‘flour’ in a recipe with it. I tried it out in three different things this weekend, with success in all three! First, I made a batch of Mulberry Chocolate Protein Bars, then I tried it as the ‘flour’ base of a Raw Carrot Cake, and finally, I used it in my weekly batch of protein nuggets. I’d use it in all three again. Below are recipes for the two protein filled snacks – super easy to whip together with your food processor. A few minutes and then store them in the freezer for up to a few weeks …I promise they won’t last that long!

Mulberry Chocolate Protein Bars

1 heaping cup of dates

1 cup raw walnuts

¼ cup raw almonds

¼ cup raw hemp seeds

¼ cup mulberry powder

¼ cup cocoa powder

¼ cup raw hemp protein powder

¼ cup raw agave or maple syrup

2 tbsp coconut oil – liquid state (more if needed)

In a food processor add the walnuts and almonds. Process until they are a powder, but not too fine that you turn it to butter! Add the dates, hemp seeds, mulberry powder, protein powder and cocoa powder. Process until it begins to stick together. Add the agave. Process. Last, add in enough coconut oil until it’s a thick dough-like texture.

Line a pan with saran wrap and put the dough mixture into the pan. Flatten out and put in the fridge. Cut into 10-12 bars and store in the fridge for a week, or freeze for up to two months.

These make a perfect post run snack! They not only satisfy a sweet tooth (I think I have 10!), but they contain loads of good fats, proteins, and superfoods! It’s a lovely way to add these into your diet.

Mulberry Protein Balls

4 Scoops of Sunwarrior Chocolate Protein Powder

1/4 C. Mulberry Powder

2 T. White Chia Seeds

2 T. Raw Cocoa Powder

1/4 C. Dates (soak to make soft)

2 T. Coconut Oil (liquid state)

2-4 T. Maple Syrup (or other liquid sweetener)

1 t. Vanilla Extract (alcohol free)

pinch of salt and/or cinnamon

Put all ingredients in a food processor and process until sticky and crumbly. Take a spoonful and press together into half an inch to inch size balls. Freeze. These make a great post-run treat!

Protein Nugget

One thought on “Recipes: Mulberry Powder

Leave a Reply

