Recipe: Molasses Cookies (GF/V)

I have been in the fall mood lately. With the first football game this weekend I can feel the anticipation of cooler days, pumpkins, and colorful leaves! So, in honor of this feeling I made Sweet Potato and Kale Soup, Cornbread, and these delicious little nuggets of a cookie. A fall meal for a day in the upper 80’s – perfect, right?! I shared it with friends and apparently the cookies were a hit, so I thought I’d share the recipe.

For those who have seen me whip up a batch of cookies, I usually just throw things together I have on hand and go with it. Yes, I’ve made so many batches of cookies over the years that I know how to make cookies by eyeballing ingredients! It’s a trait that I inherited (if you can even do that?!) from my momma. She is so good at just making up things and baking delicious goodies! It’s a good one of hers to get! So even though I didn’t write this one down as I was making it I think I can remember what I did! Here goes nothing….

MMMmmmolasses Cookies

3/4 cup of buckwheat flour

3/4 cup of gluten-free flour (I used Bobs Red Mill)

1/2 cup of brown rice flour

1/2 t psyllium husk

1 t baking soda

1 t baking powder

dash of salt

1/2 cup of coconut sugar

2 flax eggs (2 ground flaxseed + 6 T water)

1/4 cup of water

1/4 cup of molasses

1/4 cup of applesauce

1/4 cup of coconut oil, room temp

1 T cinnamon

1 t ginger

dash of nutmeg and cloves

1 t vanilla

Instructions: I was feeling a bit lazy today when I was baking, so I made this in 1 bowl. Start by preheating your oven to 350 degrees. For the dough, I stared by making the flax eggs in the bowl. I let that sit for a couple of minutes and then added the other 1/4 cup of water. After that, I added all the wet ingredients, in addition to the spices, and whisked together. Next, whisk in the coconut sugar. Finally, I added baking powder, baking soda, psyllium husk, and then lastly the flours. I whisked until almost combined and then used a wooden spoon to finish mixing it. Mix until just combined, as you don’t want to over mix this batter.

I made about 15 cookies from this batch, which were on the larger size. You could easily get about 25-30 smaller sized cookies too. I rolled the dough into balls and placed all 15 on a large cookie sheet. If you want a sparkly cookie, roll it in sugar before putting it on the sheet. Bake for 12 or so minutes (I’m terrible at setting the timer, so I think this is what I ended up removing them from the oven at!). Let cool for 10 minutes and then move to a wire rack. These keep in an airtight container for a week or so and in the freezer up to a couple months…if they last that long!

Cookies on rack

cookie

Leave a Reply

