Recipe: Pumpkin Raisin Cookies (GV, V)

Have you ever had a day when you wanted all the sugar? And you don’t discriminate – you could eat chocolate, or ice cream, or just a spoonful of coconut sugar. Well, that was today. I wanted all the sweet things. So, in an attempt to reign this in and not derail how good I’ve been feeling, I decided to get out a can of pumpkin puree and see what I could do. My mission – come up with a couple grain free, low to no sugar, vegan baked goods. I’ve been wanting to experiment more with coconut flour, so I used this as a challenge to do so.

If you’ve tried cooking vegan with coconut flour, you know it can be a hit or miss experience. And if I’m really honest, I’ve had more misses than hits with it. I love the idea of using coconut flour, but using it without an egg base can be, well, finicky! So, I set out to make two things with my can of pumpkin – muffins and cookies. Two of my very favorite baked goods! The cookies were a win, so I wanted to pass along the success of this recipe. It’s perfect with a cup of coconut milk or cup of chai. This one bowl cookie recipe is vegan, grain-free/gluten-free, and I’m also pretty sure paleo (or can be made successfully paleo).

Pumpkin Raisin Cookie

Ingredients:

2 Flax Eggs (2 T. Ground Flax + 6 T Water)

1/2 Cup of Natural Nut Butter

1/2 Cup Pumpkin Puree

1/4 Cup (plus or minus) of hemp milk

2 T Coconut Nectar

1 t Lemon Juice

1 t Vanilla Bean Paste (optional)

1/2 Cup Arrowroot Powder

1/4 Cup Coconut Flour

3 Stevia Packets (or you can use 1/4 Cup Coconut Sugar)

1 T Pumpkin Pie Spice

1/2 t Baking Soda

Dash of Sea Salt

Optional: 1/4 Cup Unsweetened Shredded Coconut and 3 Tablespoons of Raisins

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a small bowl, mix the ground flax and water to make your flax eggs. In a larger bowl, combine the nut butter (peanut, cashew, or almond works great) and pumpkin puree and whisk real good! Add in the flax egg, vanilla bean paste, coconut nectar, almond milk (start with 2T and up to 1/4 cup if mixture is still dry when everything is together) and lemon juice. Whisk until fluffy. Add in arrowroot powder and coconut flour. Whisk again. Add in the rest of the ingredients (except add in’s). Mix well and then fold in the coconut and raisins if you want (chocolate is also a great add-in!). Scoop the dough into 12 big mounds on a cookie sheet and then flatten a little with damp hands. Bake for 18 minutes. Cool on a wire rack.

Leave a Reply

