Race Report: Hogeye Marathon

12971059_10156762304625082_8180536738614534454_o

I woke up early on this blustery spring morning to witness the start of the 40th Hogeye Marathon, Half Marathon, and Relays. I was on the docket to run the third leg of the relay for Team Mustache (7.5 miles). I walked up to the starting line (perks of living two blocks from the start!), posed for the obligatory Mustache Running Club pre-Hogeye photo, and then went to cheer on the folks starting the relay and running the full/half. This is the first time I’ve seen a race start a couple minutes early! Must have been the lack of the singing of the National Anthem. And they were off…

I hopped in the car with a friend to drive to the second leg. The first relay switch was 5.5 miles into the race. Team member number one rolled into the stop around 50 minutes after the race start. The next girl took the chip and headed out for her 5.5 mile leg. I hopped back in the car and waited for what seemed like an eternity to leave the Sam’s parking lot. I arrived at the parking lot closest to the third leg hand off, laced up my shoes, and headed South to meet the girl running the second leg. About 1.5 miles in I crossed her path, turned around, and headed to the third stop. By now there was a group of three of us, so I had company for my leg.

My portion of the relay took us around the Lake Fayetteville paved lake lap, over to Old Wire, and then through a pretty neighborhood somewhere in the Rolling Hills area…I had a hard time figuring out exactly where I was, as I don’t often head to that side of town. That being said, I did enjoy the little jaunt through the neighborhood. It was a nice change of pace from the trails I’m so familiar with. During this entire trek, the wind was blowing out of the South around 20-25 mph. It made for a very rough last 9 miles of the race.

After my leg ended, we handed off the chip and I continued on to the finish of the race with a friend. We fought the wind the entire time, but she made great time and set a PR. It was nice to finish out the race and see all the sights and sounds of town. I ended up with 17 miles of the route and enjoyed every minute of it!

Leave a Reply

